Cutters conclude 2014 season today

The Crosscutters will complete the 2014 schedule with the season finale against the Pinckney Division Champion Spikes, coverage begins at 12:50 p.m. with Todd Bartley and Ian Catherine on ESPN 1050, 1600, 104.1, 92.7 and Stream 1. 

Cutters host Spikes on Sunday

The Crosscutters will complete the home portion of the 2014 schedule with the first game in a 2-game series against the Pinckney Division Champion Spikes, coverage begins at 4:50 p.m. with Todd Bartley and Ian Catherine on ESPN 1050, 1600, 104.1, 92.7 and Stream 1.

ESPN Radio Williamsport partners with ScoreStream

ESPN Radio Williamsport has partnered with ScoreStream to provide real time in-game score updates for local high school games.

ScoreStream has a mobile app and a suite of online tools that provide teams with everything they need to share their most important moments with their fans.

Sports are real-time, fans want updates in real-time, and ScoreStream gives you real-time. Scoring updates happen immediately, instant play-by-play commentary, real-time conversations, and professional photos right from the mobile app.

According to ESPN Radio Williamsport Owner and General Manager Todd Bartley, “by partnering with ScoreStream ESPN Radio Williamsport can now bring fans live play-by-play with our radio and online broadcasts and real time scoring updates with the click of a button.”

Bartley added, “our ongoing commitment to be at the forefront of the digital revolution is based on the never ending needs of our listeners and fans and we strive each day to partner with market leaders to bring those listeners and fans the content they desire in real time.”

Cutters face the Jammers for the last time in history

Tonight’s game against Jamestown will be the last in the series since it was announced recently by the New York Penn League that the Jammers franchise will be moving to Morgantown, West Virginia to begin play in 2015.

So it will be the last time the “Jamestown Jammers” will make an appearance at Susquehanna Bank Park at Historic Bowman Field.

Coverage begins at 6:50 p.m. with Todd Bartley and Ian Catherine on ESPN 1050, 1600, 104.1, 92.7 and Stream 1.

Crosscutters & Phillies Extend Agreement

The Williamsport Crosscutters and Philadelphia Phillies jointly announced that they have extended their Player Development Contract (PDC) for two years.

“We are pleased to announce the extension of our relationship with the Philadelphia Phillies for the 2015 and 2016 seasons.  The Phillies commitment to our franchise and our community over the previous eight seasons has been outstanding,” said Cutters President Paul Velte.  “We look forward to being part of the organization for years to come.”

The formal announcement and signing of the extension took place at Susquehanna Bank Park prior to the August 30 game.

Phillies Director of Player Development, Joe Jordan stated, “We are extremely excited to continue our relationship with the Crosscutters.  The Cutters management and staff, the city of Williamsport and neighboring communities have been wonderful in support of our players and staff.  We look forward to continuing to call Williamsport our New York-Penn League home.”

The Crosscutters affiliation with the Phillies began in 2007 and has produced many current major leaguers including current Phillies; Cody Asche, Domonic Brown, David Buchanan, Justin DeFratus, Jake Deikman, Freddy Galvis, Mario Hollands, & Darin Ruf.  Williamsport was previously affiliated with the Phillies in during the 1958-1962 seasons.

The Crosscutters 2014 season concludes Monday, September 1 at Susquehanna Bank Park as they host the State College Spikes at 1:05pm.

High School Football Scoreboard August 29, 2014

Montoursville 38 South Williamsport 36

Central Mountain 34 Williamsport 33

Mount Carmel 25 Loyalsock 22

Jersey Shore 31 Bellefonte 7

Warrior Run 29 Muncy 6

Hughesville 46 East Juniata 14

Montgomery 32 Bucktail 22

Troy 36 Milton 0

Lewisburg 21 Shikellamy 20

Selinsgrove 43 Central Columbia 6

Danville 35 Bloomsburg 7

North Penn 46 CMVT 8

Shamokin 7 Line Mountain 0

Southern Columbia 40 Mifflinburg 14

Canton 21 Towanda 6

Montoursville at South Williamsport

The game of the year kicks off the 2014 season with Montoursville at South Williamsport. The action begins at 6:45 p.m. on ESPN 1050, 104.1, 92.7 and stream 3 with Todd Bartley and Mark Mussina.

Central Mountain at Williamsport

The new home of the Millionaires kicks off its coverage with Central Mountain at Williamsport, coverage begins at 6:45 p.m. on WPTC-FM 88.1 and stream 2.

Bellefonte at Jersey Shore

The Jersey Shore football team opens defense of their District IV Title when they host Bellefonte tonight. Ed Brown and Steve Lehman have the action beginning at 6:45 p.m. on ESPN 1600 and stream 6.

Cutters final home stand begins tonight

The Crosscutters begin the final home portion of the 2014 schedule tonight with game one of a 2-game series with the Jamestown Jammers, coverage begins at 6:50 p.m. with Ian Catherine on Stream 1 of